Pages

Monday, December 26, 2011

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Friday, October 14, 2011

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Friday, September 2, 2011

Weekly Sketches Blog

Some friends and colleagues of mine have started a weekly sketch blog at http://weeklysketchart.blogspot.com. Here's my art from the first two themes, a mermaid and a really happy tentacle cat alien.



Sunday, August 7, 2011

Dr. Sketchy Vancouver

Here's a couple drawings done at the Vancouver Dr. Sketchy. The model for the evening was Yum Yum Doll.





Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Brush Pen Doodles

I picked up a new brush pen recently to try to help me draw a little looser and to try out something new. Here's a couple doodles.


Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Tauren Munny Wip 1

A little while ago I started making a tauren Munny for my husband that's based loosely on one of his Warcraft characters. It's slowly coming along, and here are some in-progress photos.

Munny primed and initial design sketched on. Metal wire added for the tail.
















First bit of sculpting added.









Added in the horns.


Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Life Drawings

Finally got a chance to go to life drawing at work. Here's a few of my sketches from tonight's life drawing session.


Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Barbarian Babes

I was looking at some of Frank Frazetta's art and it inspired me to do a bit of sketching. He was definitely one of the greatest fantasy artists of all time, and his depiction of chain mail bikini clad women is unsurpassed.



Sunday, March 20, 2011

Tiny R2D2



Tiny R2D2 that I sculpted for our Star Wars D&D campaign. I think our R2 garbage can is happy to have some new company.

Sunday, February 20, 2011

Sunday Afternoon Sketch

I was inspired by a sculpture and decided to draw a Jedi Twi'lek.

The initial sketch.


Some lighting keys to come up with ideas.




Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Goodbye Dr. Sketchy Toronto

Today I discovered to much sorrow that the Dr. Sketchy life drawing in Toronto is no longer going on. There was something absolutely fantastic about having life drawing sessions in a bar with models being dressed in everything from burlesque to Heman and Skeletor. I will definitely miss the drawing sessions.

Here's a few drawings I never got around to posting from the last couple times I went to Dr. Sketchy's.
I would spend the first 15 - 30 seconds of a pose roughing out the gesture with a pale marker --usually a 5% grey marker or light blue-- so that the pose was there, but barely visible. Then I'd do the rest of the drawing in pencil.

Burlesque dancers, cop & robber



The next model was a little bit more provocative with her costumes and poses. She had a crazy 1980s X-Men Storm styled white mohawk, ripped stockings, corset, pasties and the most ruffled skirt I had ever seen. One of her other costumes can only be described as a ninja-snake-not-sure-what-she's-supposed-to-be, but it looked cool. And yes, that is a swimming inner tube used at the bottom of her dress.